Book Review Fine Print

For reference, here is the rating scale that I use:

0 - I couldn't even get through the whole thing
1 - I weep for the trees wasted to create this book
2 - It's bad, with tantalizing glimpses of something worthwhile sprinkled in
3 - Not my cup of tea, but I get why people dig it
4 - I enjoyed it... a solid offering**
5 - It's really good: well written and pleasurable
6 - Why are you still reading this review? Go pick this one up NOW
7 - I will have to seriously reevaluate any friendship or romantic interest that does not like this book: a favorite

**I will also put anything I consider to be a guilty pleasure in this bucket (Guilty Pleasures)

For the convenience of those who are not religiously inclined, I have clearly labelled any Christian book reviews with the tag "Jesus Corner" and that same designation will be in the title.

If you have a suggestion for something you'd like me to review, holler at me - I'm always looking for ideas. If you have any suggestions of books you would like me to review, you can reach me at bookslikewhoa@gmail.com. Please understand that all suggestions are just that - suggestions. Reviews will appear at my sole discretion.

If you're wondering what kinds of books I like, I can tell you that my favorite authors are folks like C.S. Lewis, Agatha Christie, Kazuo Ishiguro, Graham Greene, the Brontes, Flannery O'Connor, Shakespeare, Dorothy Sayers, Michael Lewis, Carolyn Custis James, J.R.R. Tolkien, Marilynne Robinson, and Stephen King. So - a range.

Books from the last few years that I've enjoyed include Johannes Cabal: The Detective by Jonathan Howard, Bad Religion by Ross Douthat, The Sisters Brothers by Patrick DeWitt, In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson, The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell, Gilead by Marilynne Robinson, The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova, Inside Scientology by Janet Reitman, 11/22/63 by Stephen King, A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer, Will in the World by Stephen Greenblatt, The Disappearing Spoon by Sam Keene, The Big Short by Michael Lewis, My Life in France by Julia Child, and Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Again - a range.

I'll also always let you know where I get a book from so that there's no confusion.

Also, in the interest of preserving myself from the more litigious people in our midst, any and all opinions are solely mine and posted here for the entertainment of my readers. Facts have been presented accurately as I know them and hopefully everyone can take these thoughts in the spirit in which they are offered.